About Us

Formed in 1958, the Cornea and Contact Lens Society’s members include both ophthalmologists and optometrists.  This makes us unique among professional societies and is a contributing factor to the generally friendly and collegial relationship that these two groups enjoy in New Zealand. Our members have a  common interest in providing safe methods of vision correction and promoting research into aspects of corneal health and contact lens development. The society was formerly known as the New Zealand Society of Contact Lens Practitioners but our name was changed in  2006 to reflect our members’ interest in the anterior eye in its own right rather than just as a platform for contact lens wear. Our meetings are characterised by excellent education, great social events and a degree of informality.


CCLSNZ Council


  • Jagrut Lallu

Immediate Past-president

  • Anne Matheson

Vice President

  • Roberta McIlraith


  • Richard Newson


  • Adele Jeffries
  • Dr Rasha Altaie
  • Eleisha Finlay
  • Dr Chris Murphy